Ben Mallott

Ben MallottWent to Flipnotics last night to see Ben Mallott (pronounced muh lot’, not “mallet,” the pronunciation I’ve been carelessly and ignorantly throwing around).  I’m astounded that so few people were there.  I don’t offer recommendations lightly, so listen to me when I say that you Austin music fans are missing out on something very special.  I could be wrong here, but I wouldn’t be surprised to see Ben standing up there on live television with a Grammy in his hand.  I could go on and on about him, and to call him a blend of John Prine, Ray LaMontagne and Joe Cocker would be an insult to his talent.  He’s got his own style.  Go see him.  Are you listening?  Go see him.

I also discovered another incredible talent in Jess Klein.  She came on right after Ben.  Wish I could’ve stayed for Kalu James.  Next time, Kalu.

Leave a Reply

