My group

concan country club hole 3 fairway

Here’s a shot of the guys I played with last Thursday at CCC, out on the third hole.  Harper Ray, Trent Rankin and Aaron Riggins.  They grew up playing junior golf together in and around South Texas.  They’re all good players, and each one of them hits 3-iron past my best driver.  I shot the lowest score this day, though, because the night before, Harper told me how to play the golf course.  “Don’t hit driver,” he said.  “220 from the fairway is better than 100 from the rough.”  He was right, and that’s how I played.  I only hit it in that tall grass once, and when I tried to hit it out, I failed.  Twice in a row.

Harper didn’t take his own advice that day, but I don’t blame him.  Watching the ball come off his driver is something rare.  You can’t teach that kind of clubhead speed and strength.

Leave a Reply

