I remember that ol’ Frio River…

concan golf frio river texas bechtol russell hill country

Here’s one of the 4th tee at The Club at ConCan. Or Frio River Golf Club, as I think it should be called. Waylon and Willie took Luckenbach worldwide. George Strait did the same thing for the Frio.

About the design of the golf course: I’ve talked before about what makes a golf course great, and one of those is a feeling of wanting to play it again, right after holing your last putt. I feel like that at The Golf Club Star Ranch in Hutto, another Bechtol/Russell design. But I don’t feel that way about ConCan, and I like it more than Star Ranch. Maybe the difference is that there’s nothing else to do in Hutto, but there sure is in ConCan. For me, the fun begins when the golf is over, and as good as the golf course is, the experience is that much better.

Leave a Reply

