RAW vs. JPEG

swan

swan

Here’s an argument for shooting RAW all the time.  I was out on the Colorado River in a canoe with my kids and shot this with my D80.  Usually on trips like this, I shoot JPEGs, because I end up using about 20% of what I shoot.  So, I shoot a lot, and I want to be able to shoot a lot.  (RAW files take up more space, for those who didn’t know.)  Click on this one and look at the detail in the feathers and drops of water.  Had I been shooting RAW, I’d be able to blow this one up to billboard size with very little quality loss.  Since it’s JPEG, I’m stuck with trying to cheat it up any size larger than about 24×36″.

2 thoughts on “RAW vs. JPEG

Leave a Reply

