Onion Creek

onion-creekWhen I’m asked about Austin golf, Onion Creek seems to slip my mind.  I mean no disrespect, either.  I love that place.  So much new golf has been built here in the last 20 years, I just plain forget about it.

About 20 years ago, Onion Creek was the place to be.  I’m sure it still is, for some.  Birthplace of the Champions Tour, it’s a really good golf course on the south side of Austin.  Short by today’s standards (that’s a good thing in my book) and really, really well-designed.  That’s a shot there of the short par-4 third hole.  I keep going back to this, but reachable par-4s should be the future of golf course architecture.  My opinion is worth very little to the greedy, myopic backslappers who “run” the game of golf (you know who you are), but holes like this one reveal a player’s worth, right there on the tee.  Holes like this ask, “What kind of player are you?”

One thought on “Onion Creek

  1. Hi guys, We’re launching a brand spanking new cutting edge golf coaching website. We’re looking for users to test the site TOTALLY FREE. It’s soon to be the number one online golf coaching website on the internet. Check it out http://www.intensifygolf.com and if you’d like to try the site TOTALLY FREE enter the following promotion code: justin07 Compliments and kind regards Intensify Golf

Leave a Reply

