SXSW 2009

sxswOne reason I love SXSW (while other locals seem to avoid it) is because of what happened last Thursday.  I walk across the street to BD Riley’s for a burger, around noon.  All of a sudden, this band cranks it up and rocks the place sideways while I’m having a business lunch meeting.  The client loved the energy and spontaneity of it all and bought everything I was selling.  This kind of stuff doesn’t happen at ACL Fest.  Or maybe it does.  Most of the time, I’m not a crowd person, and that’s all ACL Fest is.  SXSW allows me to choose.  It’s barely over, and I can hardly wait for next year’s.

Another reason I love it is that it’s so undefined.  ACL Fest is about music, for hardcore music listeners.  SXSW incorporates music, interactive and film.  Probably more.  And the whole time it’s going on, I don’t know what’s happening where.  But the energy is incredible.  And that’s just on the periphery.

2 thoughts on “SXSW 2009

  1. Pingback: South By Southwest Invades Austin : Bytchin

Leave a Reply

