Tiger Woods breathes a sigh of relief

cw-amateurI finally did it.  I got my amateur status back after 17 years of being a professional golfer.  First as an “apprentice” in the PGA of America’s program, then a Class A PGA Member, then a mini-tour hacker (never made any real money at it).  I decided earlier in the year that while my (golf) skills are best suited for charity scrambles and skins games, I’m going to spend the rest of my summers chasing the amateur circuit.  While I may never qualify for the US Amateur or be on a Walker Cup team, I’m quite sure I’ll have a hell of a time playing in tournaments like The Cotton States, The Trans-Miss, The Rice Planters, The Azalea (the one in Tyler) and dozens of other great old amateur events at the best clubs in America.

Leave a Reply

